Vegan Cookbook Challenge #1

It’s FEBRUARY

…and while all of you on the east coast are more likely freezing in snow storms, I got to wear shorts for the first time yesterday in months. Yes, the weather has finally broken and I will shamelessly enjoy my high 70 and low 80 degree weather. As for the rest of you, I’m so sorry.

Anyway, warmer weather means new FOODS! I love spring and summer foods and can’t wait to start drinking more smoothies and enjoy seasonal produce like apricots, strawberries, pineapple, carrots, peas, and maybe I’ll try out rhubarb for the first time this year. Luckily for me, the new cookbook I purchased the other day, “Pure and Beautiful Vegan Cooking” by Kathleen Henry, kicks off with a “‘Tuna’ Waldorf Salad Sandwich” which to me, sounds like the perfect recipe to welcome the “Springtime” that has arrived a month early.

img_20170210_134112006
wow look at that amateur food photography

 

I’ve been wanting to become a better cook and decided to start with a book – cooking my way to the last page. I’ll be making something twice or three time a week and see what happens – including breakfast, lunch, and dinners, sweets, breads, and more – and I’m pumped.

img_20170210_132719385
apples, celery, cranberries, walnuts, parsley, red onion and pickles reppin’ on my cutting board

The ingredients were all vegan and all whole, healthy, and happy! The only thing that I wouldn’t put in those categories is the mayo – but I mean, what are you going to do? The recipe made 6 sammies but because it’s only me, I halved the recipe and used toasted Mack’s Flax Sprouted Whole Grain Bread from Sprouts bread (which is the only thing that prevented this from being gluten free) for my bread-of-choice.

I have never made tuna out of chickpeas, but all you really do it pulse it in a food processor and it makes a flakey canned  tuna texture – so close to the real thing that I forgot how much I miss the real thing. Throw the leftovers in a mason jar, take it to work, school, put it on crackers, take it on a picnic – it’s all good.

Keeping it casually plant based,

Erin

Leave a Reply

