Cookbook Challenge #2: Crepe???

I have never had a crepe in my LIFE

So that being said, there is no way I could tell if this was a success or not because I have absolutely nothing to compare this to. But I think it looked like the picture in the cookbook enough – so let’s just mark this as a victory.

Here’s the picture in the book:

– Also, just a heads up, I was starving tonight because I didn’t eat lunch and I didn’t get a chance to take many pictures. –

When you work on a Sunday, you deserve a classy dinner and what’s more classy than a crepe dinner? But this was a savory crepe (and after trying it, I think that crepes should stick to being a sweet breakfast/dessert. Not saying that this wasn’t good, but like – I don’t know. There’s just something about it.). Specifically, it was a “Pea and Sausage Pesto Crepe w/ Creamy Cheese Sauce” and let me tell you, this “cheese sauce” is pretty damn good and pretty damn close to the real thing. Thank you, Nutritional Yeast.

Now, if you’re like me, you think that fake meats are weird and gross – so I substituted “sausage” for some lentils and I also made my own pesto. For the pesto, I just used pine nuts, spinach, basil, garlic, olive oil, and lemon to make my own. (Also, does anyone know how expensive pine nuts are? Because the answer is very expensive) The pesto was just okay in my opinion, but I don’t think it was a big deal.

For the first time face to face with a crepe, I’m pretty proud of myself. I felt like a real cook and that was tight. Here’s a wonderful picture, up close and personal, with my work of art:

img_20170212_183056_336.jpg

Wow, I mean – just wow. However you feel about crepes – you got to admit that’s a pretty sexy crepe.

Buuuuuuut – I’d never make  this again. Not because it wasn’t good, but just because I don’t think savory crepes are my thing. After eating this though, I did eat the extra plain crepe I made because it slightly resembled a pancake. And I like pancakes.

Let me know if you ever made a crepe before – better yet let me know if you prefer savory crepes or think they’re weird.

Until Next Time,

Erin

Leave a Reply

