Pancake Tuesday

I absolutely love Easter. I love the pastel colors. I love the warm spring weather. I love the blooming flowers and that everything becomes branded with cute baby animals. But what I love most about Easter is the anticipation surrounding it, well at least if you’re Catholic.

Lent is the time between Ash Wednesday and Good Friday. It’s a time of sacrifice, reflection and prayer, and to be honest it’s kind of depressing- but I love the traditions it involves. Anyway, tomorrow is Ash Wednesday, which makes today (drum roll please) Fat Tuesday aka PANCAKE TUESDAY!

Yup that’s right, the day before the Lenten season officially begins is also known as Pancake Tuesday. Why you may ask? It has something to do with people using up all the rich foods they had in order to prepare for such a solemn time. And I guess pancakes where the perfect vehicle to use up all of those indulgent ingredients.

fullsizeoutput_a06
All the indulgent ingredients ready to be used up before Lent

Today I indulged in a glorious breakfast for dinner pancake feast. I used my all time favorite pancake recipe from feasting on fruit which is not only vegan, gluten-free, and oil-free BUT it is also banana free and is still absolutely delicious. The pancakes are made from oat flour making them super satisfying and filling. To top off my Fat Tuesday dinner I chopped up a banana, threw on some blueberries, sprinkled over some cinnamon and coconut flakes, and then made the most amazing sauce.

To create the glorious sauce drizzled on top, I combined PB fit with a ‘lil bit of coco powder and then some maple syrup and water, and omg it was DEVINE. 10/10 would recommend mixing coco powder with nut butter.

fullsizeoutput_a09
The key to oil-free cooking is a solid non-stick pan
fullsizeoutput_a0b
Pancakes + Banana + Blueberries + Cinnamon + Coconut + PB&Coco sauce=heaven on earth

This was the perfect end to a new beginning. Tomorrow I will be waking up bright and early for 8 am mass and giving up social media and swearing until Easter. To be honest, I am looking forwarded to taking a social media freeze and being able to live more in the now. Do any of you guys participate in Lent? I am always super curious to know what things people give up.

Until next time,

-Katy

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Savanna says:

    Suddenly, my oatmeal for breakfast isn’t looking so appetizing… These look so yummy! I have to try that sauce the next time I make pancakes. I’m always stumped because I don’t want straight maple syrup, but that looks perfect 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Katy says:

      I’m not that big of a maple syrup fan, but once I discovered mixing it with peanut butter my life was forever changed!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

