THE BEST OATMEAL COOKIES I HAVE EVER MADE

Sundays are my zen days. I love waking up early for mass, and taking the time to indulge in a nice brunch with friends, or even just my parents. Breakfast is undeniably my favorite meal–who doesn’t love pancakes or waffles? Anyways, this past Sunday I was treated to a lovely brunch with Erin at our favorite vegan restaurant, Pomegranate Cafe.

fullsizeoutput_11b2

Arguably, Pom’s most mouth watering delicacies are its desserts. They have a case of baked goods right at the front of the shop and after exercising some EXTREME self-control Erin and I left the store without any treats to-go. But that didn’t mean there was any lacking of treats this weekend- ohh no definitely not!

After coming back home to relax and watch La La Land, we decided to make a batch of oatmeal cookies. Now don’t get me wrong, I love a good oil-free, refined sugar-free, fat-free, 100% natural, whole foods, dessert–but this particular day I felt like throwing all of that out the window and just making the most decadent cookie possible. And let me tell you, these cookies delivered!

fullsizeoutput_11b7

So chewy. So flavorful. So cinnamon-y. So, dare I say, rich.

These cookies are an absolute TREAT and I couldn’t help myself but share the recipe. I adapted the cookies from a Golden Barrel recipe , and I sort of just threw in as many cranberries, chocolate chips and walnuts as I wanted. The measurements here make 18 jumbo cookies (and by Monday afternoon, there were only 5 left!)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Earth Balance vegan butter
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 flax eggs (2 tbs ground flaxseed mixed with 5 tbs water)
  • 2 tbs blackstrap molasses
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 & 1/2 cups of gluten-free all purpose flour (I used Pamala’s)
  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 4 tsp cornstarch
  • As many nuts, chocolate chips & dried fruit as you want!

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F
  2. Cream together the butter, sugars, flax eggs, molasses & vanilla
  3. Mix together the flour, oats, cinnamon, salt, baking soda & salt
  4. Combine the wet and dry ingredients together
  5. Throw in as many mix-ins as you would like
  6. Using an ice cream scoop, scoop out the cookies (6 on a sheet) and then flatten them
  7. Bake for 17-19 minutes, let cool on the pan for 2 mins before transferring to a cooling rack

 

Leave a Reply

